Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Personalized heat source

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Good morning everybody,

I am a novice in use of COMSOL, I want to simulate the propagation of heat through a material, sounds easy but my heat source is a surface defined by a matrix (every pixel is a source with its own magnitude),

I want to know if COMSOL can simulate this kind of source, and how?!

7 Replies Last Post Jan 14, 2013, 11:16 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 4, 2013, 5:35 a.m. EST
Hi

check the Forum on importing an interpolation function "Data source Files with "Use Space coordinates as arguments", then apply this interpolation function into your BC entries.

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi check the Forum on importing an interpolation function "Data source Files with "Use Space coordinates as arguments", then apply this interpolation function into your BC entries. -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 8, 2013, 9:08 a.m. EST
Hi,

Thank you very much,
With some standing back I see that my request was "basic"!
Now I have an other question, to define my function I need to export data from matlab, witch are defined on a certain variation range, how can I indicate to COMSOL that my function is equal to 0 out that range ?
Hi, Thank you very much, With some standing back I see that my request was "basic"! Now I have an other question, to define my function I need to export data from matlab, witch are defined on a certain variation range, how can I indicate to COMSOL that my function is equal to 0 out that range ?

Magnus Ringh COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 8, 2013, 10:35 a.m. EST
Hi,