Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to calculate the differential capacitors using 3D comb drive model

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

I'm a beginner for using COMSOL3.5 software.
What I'm doing is similar with the comb drive 3d in model library.
The difference is in my model, for the moving mass, it has both sides fingers. So there are totally two fixed part at each side of the proof moving mass.
With one side of the capacitance increased, the other side capacitance is decreasing.

I totally followed the tutorial of "comb drive 3d" to do the simulation, except the model was draw according my own design.
Now the problem is, in the model documentation, after give the Expression: C11_emes, then one capacitance value of this model is calculated by the software.(e.g. 0.021 pF—appears in the message log at the bottom of the screen).

However, in my model, I should get two capacitance values. So what should I do? what kind of the expressions should I give.
By the way, what's mean of C11_emes. I know that "emes" is the model name, but what about C11?

Your help is very important to a beginner.
Thanks a lot.

Regards

13 Replies Last Post May 12, 2012, 11:29 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 22, 2011, 8:21 a.m. EST
Hi

check the doc abut the ports in the acdcug.pdf doc of 3.5 (you can also search for "C11" or lumped parameters, it's all in there)

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi check the doc abut the ports in the acdcug.pdf doc of 3.5 (you can also search for "C11" or lumped parameters, it's all in there) -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 22, 2011, 8:39 a.m. EST
Sorry,