Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

3D Inductor modeling

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I'm a newbie in Comsol but I'm trying to simulate and modeling an inductor using the AC/DC module. I want to study the total current distribution (focusing on skin and proximity effect) and the the resistance and inductance behaviour respect to the frequency. For this I choose in the model navigator the AC/DC module/ Quasi-static Electromagnetic/Time-Harmonic Analysis.

I already follow the "Inductance in a Coil" and the "Integrated square spiral inductor" and I tried to use both of them to solve this problem.

The applied voltage is called Vin and I make a parametric variation respect to the frequency. To calculate the inductance and resistance I use some scalar expressions "adapting" these of the "Inductance in a coil" model but it doesn't work. The error is "R_c is not a vald global expression".

Where I'm making mistake?

Thank you very much,
Matteo

4 Replies Last Post Apr 1, 2011, 1:52 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Mar 1, 2011, 9:08 a.m. EST
Hi

have you checked your units there ? and where do you define Jphi_emqa in 3D ?

Internal variable names change depending on the 2D-axi, 2D or 3D set-up in COMSOL ;)

current densities are per m^2 and you integrate over a domain in m^3 the result is a current A*m ?

check the equations in the Physics Equation Systems ... view

Finally, for me to be correct in ACDC you should loop your currents fully, you have current entering from above and exciting below, but the arrive and dissapear in "thin air"

--
Good luck
Ivar