Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Solid Mechanics-Rigid Connection

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all, I am also new to COMSOL and just trying to recreate a classic example, found by Bleich of the displacement of a ship superstructure.
I just want to add a boundary condition that says the displacement on one face in plate 1 is equal to the displacement on the face of plate 2 that is contact with plate 1. Basically, I want to fuse the plates together so that their displacements are equal. Is that possible?
I've tried using Rigid Connector, but it wasn't converging. Do I need to explore contact or pairs options?
Thanks,
Sam

4 Replies Last Post Apr 25, 2011, 11:46 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 25, 2011, 4:10 a.m. EDT
Hi

if you two plates are in contact (common boundary, and you use the default "union" geometry "Finish" mode, then you have by default "continuity of the displacements between both items.

Rigid Connector is a tricky one, be sure you really understand what it's doing, it's not only adding nice BC possibilities such as torque/moment loads but it also makes the Boundary fully stiff, that is not always the desired effect

Another issue, try to avoid Point and Edge loads in 3D, as these re singularities and destroy the useful stress analysis and use only distributed loads (Domain = volume i.e. gravity or volume forces or Boundary = surfaces loads i.e. distributed pressure or total Force => pressure = average force/Area applied