Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Question about Geometrical Optics

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I'm new to COMSOL MultyPhysics, and I'm writing this email to ask you some questions about my Geometrical Optics simulation.

Please refer to the mph file I've attached.

1. When I try to use help function, the error below shows up.

*Failed to establish a connection to the documentation server:

"connect timed out"

Try the online help preference setting*

How can I solve this?

1. Before I start, I'm avoiding using "2D Axisymmetry" geometry since the real simulation I'm trying to run is not axisymmetric. To give you a brief concept of my simple simulation, the light with a uniform density parallel to the +z-axis from the larger surface of the cone passes through the material with a certain attenuation coefficient (or imaginary refractive index) and the intensity is detected at the lower surface of the flat cylinder. I'm trying to get a "light intensity map" from "3D Plot Group 2".

To accomplish this purpose, I'm using an accumulator with these settings Accumulator Type: Density Accumulation over: Rays in boundary elements Accumulated variable name: rpb Source: gop.Q [W] Units: Custom unit [W/m^2] Smoothing radius : 0.02 [m]

However, the tutorial I found ( https://www.comsol.com/video/intro-to-modeling-ray-tracing-with-comsol-multiphysics-nov-22-2018 ) use the following settings

Accumulator Type: Density Accumulation over: Rays in boundary elements Accumulated variable name: rpb Source: gop.logI [1] Units: Custom unit [1/m^2] Smoothing radius : 0 [m]