Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Using a function in the expression field of a surface plot- quantum effects

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Greetings,
I am trying to model field emission from nano-structures. I want to do a surface plot of the current using the Fowler Nordheim equation. When i try to put the equation in the expression field of the surface plot i get an error. I believe it has to do with the fact that it is an exponential function. I am still very new to comsol and am not sure how to remedy this. Could anyone help out? Also, most of what I am modeling involves quantum effects. Does Comsol automatically figure in quantum effects, such as tunneling, or do i need to do something different in order to get an accurate model? Thanks in advance for you help

5 Replies Last Post May 30, 2012, 2:28 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 29, 2012, 3:38 p.m. EDT
Hi

I suppose it's rather "exp(-B)" you wanted, or ?

Anyhow, I do not really see why just the plot of es.normE is good enough, if you use the Plot surface rage button you can enhance the color scheme nicely

One suggestion, your air domain is very big, its easier to mesh if you enclose your small structure in an air box (rectangle) perhaps 1 unit free around your device and mesh fine in there, then leave the external air part in normal mesh mode.

Be aware though that part of the field concentrations you obseve are due to numerical issues at the sharp corners, these form singularities, you could try to use very small fillets, and even higher mesh densities locally

--
Good luck
Ivar