Modelling flexural waves through an acoustic black hole to calculate reflection coefficient

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Im trying to model an acoustic black hole beam with a continuously varying young's modulus. I've added the elastic wedge with varying Youngs modulus and the uniform plate as well as a perfectly matched layer at the left end to model the beam as semi-infinite. What I'm struggling with is applying an excitation of flexural waves at the left end of the uniform plate and calculating the reflection coefficient for this excitation over a frequency range. I have no idea how to do this since Im new to COMSOL and if anybody knows what this error "Automatic scaled regions cannot treat selections without exterior and interior boundaries. - Feature: Perfectly Matched Layer 1 (pml1)" means and how to get rid of it please help me :). Ive attatched my COMSOL document on this post. Thanks.

8 Replies Last Post Mar 29, 2024, 7:19 p.m. EDT
Mark Cops COMSOL Employee

Posted: 2 months ago Mar 6, 2024, 8:14 a.m. EST
Updated: 2 months ago Mar 6, 2024, 8:14 a.m. EST

Hi Joseph,

There are some things that need to be corrected first in the model before evaluating any results.

• There is no Study step in Study 1. If solving for the steady-state, time harmonic fields add a Frequency Domain Step
  • There is no material assignment to the PML, which also needs a material assignment.
  • The lateral boundaries of the PML should not be fixed.
  • It is recommended to use Form Union as the final geometry step for this case, not Form Assembly. You can find more details here: https://www.comsol.com/support/learning-center/article/The-Usage-of-Form-Union-and-Form-Assembly-74571
  • The Young's Modulus for Structural Steel 1 (mat2) is not properly defined. The function YM needs to be called correctly with its proper argument (ex: YM(x)).