Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Magnetostatic Help

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to COMSOL and I'm teaching myself through the books we have at our university. I'm trying to model the torque between two disks containing a ring of magnets as a function of their angular offset. I looked through the permanent magnet tutorial model, and used a similar setup. My results that I get are not what I would expect, the torque curve is very scattered and is not largest about my rotating axis. Is there anyone who might be able to give me some help with this, maybe look over my model and see if you see anything wrong, or give me some ideas?

Thanks
Devin

1 Reply Last Post Jan 29, 2012, 4:38 p.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 29, 2012, 4:38 p.m. EST
Hi

some suggestions: check your mesh and see if the scatter is not from a mesh density distribution (try to double the density), and try to use points on the results lines, on the mesh without interpolation/smoothing (check your plot node settings)